Screenleap is a software that lets users instantly share their screen with others who are using a device that has a browser. It is easy to use and begins with simply clicking the Share your screen now! button. The application will begin working in the background and will verify digital signatures and also indicate she the screen is ready to be shared. A link will be provided to the person who is sharing his or her screen. This link should be passed to the other party. A pop-up will appear to indicate if the other party is viewing the shared screen. The person sharing the screen has control to share the entire screen, pause sharing or stop sharing. Also the person with control or the person sharing the screen can also decide if the only information that will be shared is information within a visible rectangle.
Screenleap was founded in 2011 and has become a popular way to share screens without the hassle of detailed registration and the collection of personal information. The application is funded by YC (Y Combinator) and aims at making sure screen sharing does not become complicated.
There are other screen sharing applications. However, the Screenleap application provides visible controls which are easy to understand and are also clearly displayed.
It is easy to use the Screenleap application. Users are clearly informed of what is happening during the sessions. They know when the screen sharing has begun and when the other party can view the screen. Users are also informed when the screen sharing session ends.
Users need to register for an account to use the Screenleap application. A first and last name, an email address, a password and a handle are required for user account registration. The handle enables users view a person's screen by going to the person's handle.
There is no cost to use the Screenleap application. Once an account is created and users are able to log in, they can begin using features of the application.
Screenleap is recommended to those who want to share their screen with others who are not located nearby. Other people with a device that has a browser can be invited to share a person's screen. Those who want to receive clear information about what is being shared and when sharing is over will also enjoy using this application. The person sharing the desktop can also pause the screen sharing session.